Home | About us

About us

Transforming lives; strengthening industry and communities

Whether you're after new skills, a new career or a pathway to university, North Metropolitan TAFE has the courses, lecturers and facilities to get you there.
We offer over 400 courses ranging from Certificate I to Higher Education qualifications across 48 industry areas.

Our flexible study options mean you can study full-time, part-time or online. 

Our mission
Our mission is to nurture participation, productivity and aspirations for our learners, our industry and our community.

Through our mission we:

  • Provide opportunities to participate in relevant, engaging, accessible and efficient skills development

  •  Create learning experiences that reflect industry and workplace standards, boosting productivity and agility for existing and emerging industries

  •  Recognise the needs of employers as well as opportunities for self-employment

  • Plan for the development of skills for new jobs in emerging industries as well as opportunities through disruptive business models

  •  Facilitate access to our campuses so that we can contribute to local communities, operating as hubs for industrial development and innovation

  • Encourage aspiration to realise individual learning potential through a lifelong journey.

Our history
North Metropolitan TAFE has a 117-year history, starting life as Western Australia’s first post-secondary education provider, Perth Technical College, in 1900.
Perth Technical College eventually became Central Institute of Technology. Central merged with West Coast Institute to form North Metropolitan TAFE in 2016.
Our location and facilities
We have ten campuses located in the city and across the northern suburbs in Northbridge, East Perth, Leederville, Balga, Clarkson, Joondalup, Midland, Mt Lawley and Nedlands. 
Each campus has the facilities, equipment and technology that focuses on making our graduates job-ready.


 Our Governance
The role of the Governing Council is to ensure that clear management, effective decision making and governance frameworks are in place and functioning for North Metropolitan TAFE.
The Governing Council is accountable to the Minister and Western Australian community for the performance of NMT.
Each Council member has been selected for their experience and expertise in education, training, industry or community affairs, and for their ability to contribute to the strategic direction of North Metropolitan TAFE. 

Members are appointed for a three year term, and at the end of their term are eligible for re-appointment.
Any queries regarding NMT’s Governing Council should be directed to Ms Sarah Emmerson​ via email at sarah.emmerson@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Emeritus Professor William (Bill) Louden (Governing Council chairman)
   Peter Rowles (Governing Council deputy chairman)
   Marina Hogan
   Arshad Omari
   Graham Droppert
   Mara West
   Dianne Bianchini
   Craig McLure
   Anne Donaldson
   Karen Jamvold

Michelle Hoad is the Managing Director.

Click here to see full bios

For copies of our Annual Report and other corporate documents, please see the Publications page.
Page last updated October 05, 2017