Home | Future students | Still at school

Still at school

The VET in Schools program is your gateway to a wide range of qualifications

Whether you want to pursue further VET studies, to broaden your career options or go onto university, we offer the options and support you need to get to where you want to be. By completing a VET in Schools course, you will obtain a nationally recognised qualification.

Plus, Year 12 students who successfully complete a course in a VET in Schools programs are guaranteed enrolment to one of our courses for the following year. (A merit selection may apply to some courses). Our courses will provide you with the skills and knowledge to transition from school to employment and provide alternative pathways into further education. ​​​

Study areas

We deliver VET in Schools Program across a range of industry areas including:

  • ​​Automotive

  • Beauty Therapy

  • Building & Construction

  • Engineering

  • Events & Tourism

  • Health

  • Hospitality

  • Science

​​​​
Cost

There are no tuition fees for any of the VET in Schools Programs. However you may be required to buy textbooks and other resources.

Need help?

If you need help deciding what program to choose or would like more information, contact your school's VET Coordinator or Careers Counsellor.

VET in Schools Contacts

The best place to start is with your school's VET in Schools Coordinator. 
However, if you would like to contact VET in Schools staff at North Metropolitan TAFE, please email 

E   vetinschools@nmtafe.wa.edu.au​ ​​

Contacts

General questions and administration

Please contact our VET in Schools administration team if you have general questions about VET in Schools and the process involved.

Fiona Ion, Schools Program Coordinator  |  T 1300 300 822​  |  E vetinschools@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Course content

If you would like to discuss the academic content of one of our courses please contact the appropriate staff member below.

Automotive

Certificate II in Automotive Servicing Technology (Pre-Apprenticeship Vehicle Servicing - Light)   Ian Wright   |  E Ian.Wright@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Beauty Therapy

Certificate II in Retail Cosmetics                                                                                                                          Cynthia Li   |  E Cynthia.Li@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Building & Construction

Certificate II in Building & Construction (Pathway - Para Professional)                                                    Maxine Plowright  |  E Maxine.Plowright@nmtafe.wa.edu.au 
                                                                                                                                                                                OR Nathan Strahan  |  E Nathan.Strahan@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Certificate II in Building & Construction (Pathway - Trades) Bricklaying / Blocklaying |     
Wall and Floor Tiling  Plastering  |  Plastering and Tiling Combined                                                       Enzo Multari  |  E Enzo.Multari@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Certificate II in Building & Construction (Pathway - Trades) Carpentry                                                     Rob Moseley  |  E Robert.Mosely@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Certificate II in Furniture Making (Cabinet Making / Furniture Making Pre-Apprenticeship)             Gary Michels  |  E Garry.Michels@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
                                                                                                                                                                                OR Keith Campbell  |  E Keith.Campbell@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Electrotechnology

Certificate II in Electrotechnology (Career Start)                                                                                             Ian Evans  |  E Ian.Evans@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Engineering

Certificate III in Engineering - Technical                                                                                                             Indu V  |  E Indu.V@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Certificate II in Engineering (Mechanical Fitter and Machinist Pre-Apprenticeship)  |
Certificate II in Engineering (Heavy Fabrication Pre-Apprenticeship)                                                        Ian Wright  |  E Ian.Wright@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Events

Certificate III in Events  |  Joondalup                                                                                                                    Jason Smith  |  E Jason.Smith@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Certificate III in Events  Northbridge                                                                                                                Scott Adam  |  E Scott.Adam@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Health Services

Certificate III in Population Health                                                                                                                      Darren Channell  |  E Darren.Channell@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Certificate III in Health Services Assistance        

Horticulture & Conservation

Certificate II in Horticulture  Certificate II in Conservation and Land Management  |         
Certificate II in Landscaping                                                                                                                                  Neha Umaretiya  |  E Neha.Umaretiya@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Hospitality

Certificate II in Kitchen Operations                                                                                                                      Jason Smith  |  E Jason.Smith@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Certificate II in Hospitality                                                                                                                                     Scott Adam  |  E Scott.Adam@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Information Technology

Certificate III in Information, Digital Media and Technology                                                                        Guido Verschoor  |  E Guido.Verschoor@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Introduction to Laboratory Skills

Certificate II in Sample and Measurement                                                                                                       Claudia Baker  |  E Claudia.Baker@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Tourism

Certificate III in Tourism                                                                                                                                         Scott Adam  |  E Scott.Adam@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Fee for Service

Certificate III in Sport and Recreation | Leederville                                                                                          Jeremy Sorensen  |  E Jeremy.Sorensen@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Certificate III in Screen and Media (Digital)  East Perth                                                                              Adil Mistry  |  E Adil.Mistry@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Certificate III in Screen and Media (Digital)  Joondalup                                                                               Tanya Beeson  |  E Tanya.Beeson@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Certificate III in Screen and Media | Northbridge                                                                                            Neil Micunovic  |  E Neil.Micunovic@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Certificate II in Information, Digital Media and Technology  | Joondalup                                                   Lewis Rose  |  E Lewis.Rose@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Page last updated July 19, 2017