Home | Latestnews | Students snap up photography awards

Students snap up photography awards

North Metro TAFE photography students put on an outstanding display at the recent Australian Institute of Professional Photography (AIPP)’s West Australian Epson Professional Photography Awards resulting in a raft of awards and an invitation to participate as Print Handlers for the National competition in Melbourne this August.

  • Ryan McAulay was named 2018 WA Student Photographer of the Year and achieved two Silvers and a Silver Distinction for his three images (pictured below). He also received the 2018 Print Handlers Award, chosen by the competition’s print handlers
  • David Walters received a Gold Distinction Award (this was the first time a student has achieved this level of award)
  • Three students received Silver Distinction Awards and 25 students received Silver Awards.

“Our students’ involvement in the AIPP Awards last week was nothing short of outstanding,” said North Metro TAFE photography lecturer Des Birt. “Our students were integral to the behind the scenes running and judging of the three day event.”

2018 WA Student Photographer of the Year Ryan McAulay discovered his passion for photography whilst travelling the world, using only his camera phone to capture photos of all the beautiful places he visited.Ryan McCaulay.jpg

“As my passion for sharing what I had experienced grew, I found I wasn't able to fully capture the beauty of what I had seen, so I bought my first DSLR camera and fell in love with photography,” said Ryan.

“This competition is where the best of the best in WA have their images judged and commented on so I’m absolutely mind blown that all three of my images received an award,” said Ryan.

Ryan and David’s images can be seen on rotation in the centre of Perth on the brand new Screenwest Yagan Square Digital Tower or in print at the Perth Town Hall.

View Ryan’s work.

Check out our range of Photography courses

Dave Walters.jpg

Top: Ryan McAulay was awarded Student Photographer of the Year and the Print Handlers Award.
Right: Dave Walters earned a Gold Distinction Award.

Page last updated June 08, 2018