Virtual Reality
Home | Future students | Skills recognition

Skills recognition

Throughout your life you will have gained skills and knowledge and you've obtained through formal training (such as attending TAFE or university), non-formal training (via a professional development program at work) or informal learning (on-the-job experience).

Skills recognition is a formal process where we assess your knowledge and skills to determine if we can grant advanced standing for any of the units of competency you are enrolling into, or are currently enrolled in. 

These are recognised via one of the three processes below.

Credit Transfer

Credit transfer recognises formal education that you have previously undertaken. If you have successfully completed a superseded unit that has been deemed equivalent and you can demonstrate currency, North Metropolitan TAFE will recognise the unit and credit it to your current studies.

You must provide certified copies of the unit(s) of competency.  Please attend at any Student Services counter with your original documents, as staff must view these in order to certify your copies.

There is no charge for processing a credit transfer application. 

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)

RPL is a formal assessment process where we assess your current knowledge and skills against the unit(s) for which you are seeking recognition.

Fees are applicable and need to be paid before any assessment can begin.

Recognition of Current Competency (RCC)

RCC is where you have previously successfully completed the requirements for a unit of competency and are now required to be reassessed to ensure that competency is being maintained (e.g. by a licencing authority).

International students

Please note International students please direct your skills recognition enquiry to InternationalStudy@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Page last updated August 29, 2019