Home | Courses | Study types | VET Delivered to Secondary Students

VET Delivered to Secondary Students

What is VET Delivered to Secondary Students?

Vocational Education and Training [VET] Delivered to Secondary Students is a program delivered to school students as part of your Western Australian Certificate of Education. 

We specifically choose courses that provide clear career pathways after high school. They will give you practical skills and an understanding of what to expect from the workplace and, once completed, may provide credits towards other nationally recognised qualifications, or lead to employment. 

Students enrolled in a VET Delivered to Secondary Students course attend a North Metropolitan TAFE campus one or two days per week.

Late applications are now open and will close Friday, 31 October 2018.

Please note that continuing students from 2018 in the same qualification/program do not need to apply online. We will liaise with your school VET Coordinator to confirm your intentions in early October 2018.

Before you start your application

Please note that a C grade or above in Mathematics and English is an essential requirement for selection in any VET Delivered to Secondary Students program. Students may also be required to attend an interview and in some cases complete an aptitude or Maths test.

Our VET Delivered to Secondary Students programs are extremely competitive, therefore we recommended that you provide as much evidence as possible to support your application.

Before you start your application you will need the following information: 

  • School Curriculum & Standards Authority (SCSA) number (This can be found on your school report or speak with your school VET Coordinator)
  • Most recent school report in an electronic format i.e. PDF
  • Parent/guardian email address
  • Parent/guardian mobile phone number

Note  If you do not have this information you will not be able to submit your application.

The more information you submit the more competitive your application will become. Other information that you may want to consider having available when completing you application includes:

  • Resume (if you have completed paid or volunteer work)
  • Volunteer work
  • References
  • Certificates (leadership, sporting, first aid etc.)
  • Supporting information

When selecting course preferences it is important that you have read the information about each course in the 2019 VET Delivered to Secondary Students Course Guide and discussed your options with your school VET Coordinator before you start your application, as not all courses may be appropriate for you. Your school VET Coordinator will be contacted to endorse your application.

When selecting your course you will need to select your campus first. It is important that you can travel with ease to and from that campus (you may find this website useful) www.transperth.wa.gov.au  

Once you commence your application, you can save your changes if you need to exit and return at a later time. You will be emailed a link to your saved application which you can only access from the email address entered at the time you save and exit.

Cost

There are no tuition fees for the majority of the VET Devilvered to Secondary Schools programs. You may be required to buy textbooks and other resources.

Contacts

General questions and administration

Please contact our VET Delivered to Secondary Students administration team if you have general questions about the VET Delivered to Secondary Students process.

Lizel Oosthuizen, Schools Program Coordinator  |  T 1300 300 822​  |  E vetinschools@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Course content

If you would like to discuss the academic content of one of our courses please contact the appropriate staff member below.

Accounting
FNS30317 | Certificate III in Accounts Administration Robyn Martin  Robyn.Martin@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Automotive

AUR20516 | Certificate II in Automotive Servicing Technology
(Pre-Apprenticeship Vehicle Servicing - Light)

AUR20716 | Certificate II in Automotive Vocational Preparation

Paul Mauro

Paul.Mauro@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

Beauty Therapy
SHB30215 | Certificate III in Make-Up Cynthia Li Cynthia.Li@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Building & Construction

 

52825WA | Certificate II in Building & Construction (Pathway - Para Professional) Julie Canal Julie.Canal@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
52824WA | Certificate II in Building & Construction (Pathway - Trades) | Balga Enzo Multari Enzo.Multari@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
52824WA | Certificate II in Building & Construction (Pathway - Trades) | Clarkson Liam Cochran Liam.Cochran@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
52824WA | Certificate II in Building & Construction (Pathway - Trades) | Midland Robert Moseley Robert.Moseley@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
MSF20313 | Certificate II in Furniture Making
(Cabinet Making / Furniture Making Pre-Apprenticeship)
Garry Michels  OR
Keith Campbell
Garry.Michels@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Keith.Campbell@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Business

BSB31015 | Certificate III in Business Administation (Legal)

Angeline Celestine Angeline.Celestine@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
BSB31115 | Certificate III in Business Administration (Medical) Judy Gattorna Judy.Gattorna@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Community Services
CHC22015 | Certificate II in Community Services Nicholas Venables Nicholas.Venables@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Education Services
CHC30213 | Certificate III in Education Support Sarah Harris Sarah.Harris@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Electrotechnology

UEE20511 | Certificate II in Computer Assembly and Repair

UEE22011 | Certificate II in Electrotechnology (Career Start)

UEE21911 | Certificate II in Electronics

Ian Evans Ian.Evans@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Engineering

MEM30505 | Certificate III in Engineering - Technical

Caritha Martens Caritha.Martens@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

MEM20105 | Certificate II in Engineering
(Mechanical Fitter and Machinist Pre-Apprenticeship)

MEM20105 | Certificate II in Engineering (Heavy Fabrication Pre-Apprenticeship)

Paul Mauro Paul.Mauro@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Events

SIT30516 | Certificate III in Events  |  Joondalup 

Jason Smith Jason.Smith@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
SIT30516 | Certificate III in Events  |  Northbridge Scott Adam  Scott.Adam@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Health Services
HLT36015 | Certificate III in Population Health Darren Channell Darren.Channell@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Horticulture & Conservation

AHC20416 | Certificate II in Horticulture

AHC21016 | Certificate II in Conservation and Land Management

AHC21616 | Certificate II in Landscaping 

Neha Umaretiya Neha.Umaretiya@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Hospitality
SIT20416 | Certificate II in Kitchen Operations Jason Smith Jason.Smith@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Laboratory Skills
MSL20116 | Certificate II in Sampling and Measurement Claudia Baker Claudia.Baker@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Plumbing
52700WA | Certificate II in Plumbing Wayne Price Wayne.Price@nmtafe.wa.edu.au
Retail Services
SIR20216 | Certificate II in Retail Services Tim Riessen Tim.Riessen@nmtafe.wa.edu.au

 

Page last updated October 22, 2018